The Australian Music Prize reveals 2020 finalists

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine


The Australian Music Prize reveals 2020 finalists

Words by Will Brewster

Led by Tame Impala, The Avalanches, Miiesha and Alice Ivy.

The Australian Music Prize has today revealed its official shortlist for 2020, highlighting the strength of the nation’s musical community in what’s been an incredibly testing year for the industry.

Selected from a total of 88 local releases by a panel of Australian music industry experts, writers, artists and critics, the 16th Soundmerch Australian Music Prize shortlist is comprised of nine records that garnered critical acclaim and had a significant cultural impact both at home and abroad.

This year’s Australian Music Prize finalists are led by the likes of Tame Impala and The Avalanches, who each received significant acclaim for their respective releases The Slow Rush and We Will Always Love You. 

They’re joined by another batch of acclaimed albums from Emma Donovan and The Putbacks, Miiesha, Blake Scott and Fanny Lumsden, with the shortlist being rounded out by Gordon Koang, Alice Ivy and Ziggy Ramo.

The winner of the 2020 AMP will receive a $20,000 cash prize to go towards their next musical project, with this year’s cash prize coming via Soundmerch.

Soundmerch Australian Music Prize Director Scott Murphy reflected on the status of the prestigious award in regards to 2020 and congratulated the finalists in a statement released today, saying that “The feedback directly from artists who released albums in 2020 has been quite incredible; much praise for us being able to keep The AMP alive in a year that wasn’t alive in so many ways.

“It could not have been done without the help of long term industry friends, especially APRA and the Mushroom Group, whose financial support remained intact for the 16th year.

Of course, it was amazing that during these times, long-term AMP partner SoundMerch stepped up their support of the industry and are going to pay the winner a $20,000 cash prize! Congratulations to our nine shortlisted artists on their incredible work.”

Check out the AMP finalists for 2020 below. Previous winners of the Australian Music Prize include Sampa The Great, Courtney Barnett, Gurrumul and Eddy Current Suppression Ring.

2020 Soundmerch Australian Music Prize Finalists 

Alice Ivy – Don’t Sleep
The Avalanches – We Will Always Love You
Blake Scott – Niscitam
Emma Donovan and The Putbacks – Crossover
Fanny Lumsden – Fallow
Gordon Koang – Unity
Miiesha – Nyaaringu
Tame Impala – The Slow Rush
Ziggy Ramo – Black Thoughts

Head to the Australian Music Prize website to find out more.