The Australian Music Prize announces first batch of 2020 nominees

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine

The Australian Music Prize announces first batch of 2020 nominees

Comprised of 52 different albums – with more to be announced in the coming months – this year’s AMP marks the 16th edition of the lauded awards, with a number of noted personalities in the Australian music industry listening to over 300 records to trim the fat down to today’s longlist. 


Offering a healthy mix of independent talent and global heavyweights, this year’s prize sees the likes of Tame Impala, Violent Soho and 5 Seconds of Summer going up against the likes of Party Dozen, Gordon Koang, Sweet Whirl and Nat Vazer for the award, with acts like Gum, #1 Dads, Eddy Current Supression Ring and Gordi also getting a good look in at the gong.


Given the unique financial impact of 2020 upon the music industry, the Australian Music Prize have teamed up with SoundMerch to sell T-Shirts and facemasks in order to raise the prize money for this year’s winner, with 70% of proceeds from merchandise being directed towards the 2020 prize winner. 


In a statement released today, Mushroom Group chairman Michael Gudinski celebrated the persistence of The AMP throughout such a challenging year, noting that “Music is about uniting people and now more than ever
we all need a bit of hope and happiness. I’m excited the Mushroom Group is supporting the Australian Music Prize (AMP) once again in 2020.


“It’s an important award offering recognition and support to some of our best independent Australian artists and songwriters, acknowledgment needed more than ever as our local music industry goes through these difficult times.”



Check out all the nominees for this year’s AMP as they stand below. We’re expecting to see more albums added to the list in coming months, so make sure to keep your ear to the ground for more news soon. 


The Australian Music Prize 2020 – first round nominees

#1 Dads – Golden Repair

5 Seconds Of Summer – Calm

Alice Ivy – Don’t Sleep

Andras – Joyful

Andrew Tuttle – Alexandra

Banoffee – Look At Us Now Dad

Big Yawn – No!

Boomalli – The Promise

Cable Ties – Far Enough

Caiti Baker – Mary Of The North

Clamm – Beseech Me

DMAs – The Glow

e44443 – Coldstream Road

Eddy Current Suppression Ring – All In Good Time

Fanny Lumsden – Fallow

Good Boy – It Takes A Lot Of Skill To Milk A Mare

Gordi – Our Two Skins

Gordon Koang – Unity

Gum – Out In The World

Jack Colwell – Swandream

Jess Cornelius – Distance

Karate Boogaloo – Carn The Boogers

Katie Dey – Mydata

L-Fresh The Lion – South West

Loser – Mindless Joy

Luke Howard – The Sand That Ate The Sea

Mark Seymour & The Undertow – Slow Dawn

Miiesha – Nyaaringu

Mild Minds – Mood

Nat Vazer – Is This Offensive And Loud?

Nick Griffith – 7AM

Party Dozen – Pray For Party Dozen

Primo! – Sogni

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Sideways To New Italy

Roza Terenzi – Modern Bliss

RVG – Feral

Sarah Mary Chadwick – Please Daddy

Shepparton Airplane – Sharks

Simona Castricum – Panic/Desire

Snowy Band – Audio Commentary

Sophie Hutchings – Scattered On The Wind

Stevan – Just Kids

Sweet Whirl – How Much Works

Tame Impala – The Slow Rush

The Chats – High Risk Behaviour

The Friends Of David McComb – Truckload Of Sky

The Necks – Three

Tracey Mc Neil & The Goodlife – You Be The Lightning

Traffik Island Sweat Kollecta’s – Peanut Butter Traffik Jam

Vanessa Perica Orchestra – Love Is A Temporary Madness

Violent Soho – Everything Is A-OK

Ziggy Ramo – Black Thoughts


Head to The Australian Music Prize website to buy a shirt and support this year’s prize pool.