Check out the APRA Song of the Year contenders for 2021

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine


Check out the APRA Song of the Year contenders for 2021

Words by Will Brewster

Tame Impala, Kylie Minogue, Something For Kate and Tones & I have scored nominations.

Following last year’s virtual event, the ARPA Awards will be returning to a physical format in 2021, with the industry body today sharing details of the event in addition to revealing the shortlist of  nominees for the peer-voted Australian Song of the Year.

The ceremony is set to take place at Sydney’s International Convention Centre Grand Ballroom on Wednesday April 28, with more nomination categories to be detailed further in the weeks to come.

This year’s shortlist for Song of the Year is packed with an assortment of chart-dominating heavy hitters and APRA newcomers alike, with Kylie Minogue, Spacey Jane, Polaris and Lime Cordiale each receiving inaugural nods.

Other acts to be nominated include DMAs, Baker Boy, Paul Kelly & Kasey Chambers, Archie Roach, Midnight Oil, Something For Kate and Tones & I, as well as Matt Corby, Cold Chisel, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds and Tim Minchin.

Notable inclusions to this year’s shortlist include Tame Impala with three nominations for ‘Is It True’, ‘It Might Be Time’ and ‘Lost In Yesterday’, while UK pop sensation Dua Lipa has also received an unlikely nod for her chart smash ‘Break My Heart’, which prominently samples INXS’s 1987 hit ‘Need You Tonight’. Subsequently, this also means songwriters Andrew Farriss and Michael Hutchence have been nominated for the award.

“As Australia slowly begins recovering from the Coronavirus pandemic, our industry is still largely on pause,” Dean Ormston, CEO of APRA AMCOS, said in a statement shared today.

“After such a difficult year, our sincere hope is that we can stage a traditional live ceremony for the 2021 APRA Music Awards. A physical event would announce that we’re in a new era, one where we can celebrate the Australian songwriters that have excelled despite one of the most challenging years in memory. We hope to see you there in the flesh.”

Check out all the nominees below, and stay tuned to hear about further details for this year’s awards as they emerge in the coming weeks.

APRA Song of the Year 2021 Shortlist 

‘Bad Child’ – Tones & I

‘Booster Seat’ – Spacey Jane

‘Break My Heart’ – Dua Lipa

‘Carry You’ – Missy Higgins

‘Everybody Rise’ – Amy Shark

‘Gadigal Land’ – Midnight Oil feat. Dan Sultan, Joel Davison, Kaleena Briggs & Bunna Lawrie

‘Getting The Band Back Together’ – Cold Chisel

‘Ghosteen’ – Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

‘If I Never Say A Word’ – Matt Corby

‘I’ll Take Lonely Tonight’ – Tim Minchin

‘I’m Good?’ – Hilltop Hoods

‘Is It True’ – Tame Impala

‘It Might Be Time’ – Tame Impala

‘Lost In Yesterday’ – Tame Impala

‘Love Songs’ – Daryl Braithwaite

‘Masochist’ – Polaris

‘Meditjin’ – Baker Boy feat. Jessb

‘On Our Own’ – Lime Cordiale

‘Say Something’ – Kylie Minogue

‘Silver’ – DMAs

‘Situation Room’ – Something For Kate

‘Standing With You’ – Guy Sebastian

‘Tell Me Why’ – Archie Roach with Sally Dastey

‘Two Of Us’ – Birds Of Tokyo

‘When We’re Both Old And Mad’ – Paul Kelly & Kasey Chambers

Head to APRA AMCOS for more details.