Australian songwriter Sarah Aarons wins big at 2019 APRA Music Awards

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine

Australian songwriter Sarah Aarons wins big at 2019 APRA Music Awards

The awards ceremony, which took place in Melbourne overnight to acknowledge the heavy hitters behind the scenes of Australia’s music industry saw Aarons receive the coveted Songwriter Of The Year award for her songwriting contributions on the Grammy nominated smash hit ‘The Middle,’ originally released by Zedd, Maren Morris and Grey. 


Aarons, who now lives in LA and has worked with the likes of Khalid, John Legend, Dua Lipa and Camila Cabello, also received awards for Most Played Australian Work and Dance Work of the Year for ‘The Middle,’ as well as an award for Rock Work of the Year for her contributions on The Rubens’ Never Ever. 




Elsewhere, the omnipresent Amy Shark was awarded APRA’s peer-voted Song of the Year and Pop Work of the Year for ‘I Said Hi,’ while Dean Lewis received honours for Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year and the Outstanding International Achievement Award for ‘Be Alright.’ The full list of winners, including Sia, Angus & Julia Stone and 5 Seconds Of Summer, can be found below. 


2019 APRA Music Awards – Winners List


Peer-Voted APRA Song of the Year: ‘I Said Hi’ – Amy Shark

Songwriter of the Year: Sarah Aarons

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year: Dean Lewis

Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music: Rob Potts

Overseas Recognition Award: Lindsay Rimes

Outstanding International Achievement Award: ‘Youngblood’ – 5 Seconds of Summer

Outstanding International Achievement Award: ‘Be Alright’ – Dean Lewis

Most Played Australian Work: ‘The Middle’ – Zedd, Maren Morris & Grey

Dance Work of the Year: ‘The Middle’ – Zedd, Maren Morris & Grey

Rock Work of the Year: ‘Never Ever’ – The Rubens feat. Sarah

Pop Work of the Year: ‘I Said Hi’ – Amy Shark

Urban Work of the Year: ‘Clark Griswold’ – Hilltop Hoods feat. Adrian Eagle

Country Work of the Year: ‘Day Drunk’ – Morgan Evans

Blues & Roots Work of the Year: ‘Chateau’ – Angus & Julia Stone

Most Played Australian Work Overseas: ‘Cheap Thrills’ – Sia

Licensee of the Year: Clancy’s Fish Pub, WA

International Work of the Year: ‘Perfect’ – Ed Sheeran


Find out more about the APRA Music Awards here