The Australian Music Prize announces its nominees for 2019

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine

The Australian Music Prize announces its nominees for 2019

Although the first nominees were announced back in July, the committee have added a whole new slew of more recent releases to the list, including Kirin J Callinan’s Return To Center, Angie McMahon’s Salt, Holy Holy’s My Own Pool Of Light, Tropical Fuck Storm’s Braindrops and Sampa The Great’s fantastic LP The Return. 



The winner of this year’s prize will be granted with a healthy $30,000 cash prize, which aims to assist artists in touring, recording or simply just funding an addiction to vintage music gear. In a statement, AMP director Scott Murphy detailed the laborious process that goes into judging the potential winners, stating that “For this 15th prize we expanded the judging panel and created three separate stages of judging, with the 1st stage now complete. Around 40 judges listened to a record number of 454 eligible Australian album releases and have delivered a list of 107 albums – the best of 2019.”


Check out the entire list of nominees below – results are expected to be released in January. Last year’s award was posthumously granted to Gurrumul, while 2017’s honours went to Sampa The Great’s Birds And The Bee9 mixtape.



Australian Music Prize 2019 Nominees

Ainslie Wills – All You Have Is All You Need [NEW]
Air Land Sea – Air Land Sea [NEW]
Alex Lahey – The Best Of Luck Club
Ali Barter – Hello, I’m Doing My Best [NEW]
Amyl & The Sniffers – Amyl & The Sniffers
Alex Cameron – Miami Memory [NEW]
Allday – Starry Night Over The Phone [NEW]
Andrea Keller – Transients Volume 1
Angie McMahon – Salt [NEW]
Archie Roach – Tell Me Why [NEW]
Art Of Fighting – Luna Low
Ausmuteants – Present The World In Handcuffs [NEW]
Bad//Dreems – Doomsday Ballet [NEW]
Batts – The Grand Tour
Belle Chen – Departure [NEW]
Bench Press – Not The Past, Can’t Be The Future
Black Lung – The Great Manipulator
Brightness – Brightness [NEW]
Carla Dal Forno – Look Up Sharp [NEW]
Ceres – We Are A Team [NEW]
Charlie Collins – Snowpine
Chelsea Wilson – Chasing Gold [NEW]
Collarbones – Futurity [NEW]
Cool Sounds – More To Enjoy [NEW]
Corin – Manifest [NEW]
Cub Sport – Cub Sport
Daggy Man – I’m Going To Love As Long As I Live
Deborah Conway & Willy Zygier – The Words Of Men [NEW]
Dispossessed – Warpath Never Ended
Dope Lemon – Smooth Big Cat
Dying Adolescence – Please Be Kind [NEW]
Dyson Stringer Cloher – Dyson Stringer Cloher [NEW]
DZ Deathrays – Positive Rising: Part 1 [NEW]
Elizabeth – The Wonderful World Of Nature [NEW]
Emma Russack – Winter Blues
Exek – Some Beautiful Species Left [NEW]
Ferla – It’s Personal
Gena Rose Bruce – Can’t Make You Love Me [NEW]
Godtet – II [NEW]
Gold Fields – Dalawa
Grace Cummings – Refuge Cove [NEW]
Hatchie – Keepsake
Hermitude – Pollyanarchy [NEW]
Hexdebt – Rule Of Four
Holy Holy – My Own Pool Of Light [NEW]
HTRK – Venus In Leo [NEW]
Huntly – Low Grade Buzz
I Know Leopard – Love Is A Landmine
J. McFarlane’s Reality Guest – TA DA [NEW]
Jade Imagine – Basic Love [NEW]
Jess Ribeiro – Love Hate
Jimmy Barnes – My Criminal Record
Jo Schornikow – Secret Weapon
Julia Jacklin – Crushing
June Jones – Diana [NEW]
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Fishing For Fishies
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Infest The Rats’ Nest [NEW]
Kirin J Callinan – Return To The Centre [NEW]
Laurence Pike – Holy Spring [NEW]
Lachlan Denton & Studio Magic – A Brother [NEW]
Low Life – Downer EDN [NEW]
Lucky Oceans – Purple Sky [NEW]
Lucy Roleff – Left Open In A Room [NEW]
Lupa J – Swallow Me Whole [NEW]
Mansionair – Shadowboxer
Married Man – Hard Bargain [NEW]
Martin Frawley – Undone At 31
Methyl Ethel – Triage
Montaigne – Complex [NEW]
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen [NEW]
No Mono – Islands (Part 2) [NEW]
Olympia – Flamingo
On Diamond – On Diamond [NEW]
Oren Ambarchi – Simian Angel [NEW]
Parsnip – When The Tree Bears Fruit [NEW]
Paul Mac – Mesmerism [NEW]
Phil Slater – The Dark Pattern [NEW]
Polish Club – Iguana
Pond – Tasmania
Possible Humans – Everybody Split [NEW]
Rainbow Chan – Pillar [NEW]
Robert Forster – Inferno
Russell Morris – Black & Blue Heart
Ry X – Unfurl
Sampa The Great – The Return [NEW]
Sarah Mary Chadwick – Queen Who Stole The Sky
Skydeck – Eureka Moment [NEW]
Sleep D – Rebel Force [NEW]
Sports Bra – Talk It Out [NEW]
Squaring Circles – Motion
Stella Donnelly – Beware Of The Dogs
Stonefield – Bent
Sui Zhen – Losing, Linda [NEW]
Sunbeam Sound Machine – Goodness Gracious
The Beasts – Still Here
The Money War – Home
The Snakes – The Snakes [NEW]
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak
These New South Whales – I Just Do What God Tells Me To Do [NEW]
Tropical Fuck Storm – Braindrops [NEW]
Two People – First Body
U-Bahn – U-Bahn [NEW]
Underground Lovers – A Left Turn [NEW]
Vulture St. Tape Gang – More Mature Themes For Childish People
WAAX – Big Grief [NEW]
We Lost The Sea – Triumph & Disaster [NEW]
Wilson Tanner – II [NEW]


Find out more about the Australian Music Prize here