Here’s all the winners of the 2019 AIR Awards

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine

Here’s all the winners of the 2019 AIR Awards

Occuring overnight at Adelaide’s Freemasons Hall, the awards ceremony also featured performances from nominees such as Mojo Juju, Laura Jean and G Flip, the latter of whom won the award for Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year for her debut single ‘About You.’



Courtney Barnett and the late Indigenous singer-songwriter Gurrumul were announced as joint winners for Best Independent Album or EP, while Barnett also nabbed Best Independent Artist for the second time in her career. 


Elsewhere, Mojo Juju snagged the AIR Award for Best Independent Single for ‘Native Tongue’, while DZ Deathrays, What So Not and Confidence Man also picked up artist nods. Chapter Music snagged the big one for this year with the Best Independent Label Award, with their efforts being recognised via a delectable $20,000 prize courtesy of Moshtix. Check out the full list of winners below.


2019 Australian Independent Record Labels Association Award Winners


Best Independent Label – Chapter Music

Best Independent Artist – Courtney Barnett

Best Independent Album or EP – Courtney Barnett’s Tell Me How You Really Feel & Gurrumul’s Djarimirri

Best Independent Single – Mojo Juju’s ‘Native Tongue’

Breakthrough Independent Artist of the Year [Presented by PPCA] – G Flip

Best Independent Hip Hop Album – B Wise’s Area Famous

Best Independent Country Album – Beccy Cole’s Lioness

Best Independent Blues & Roots Album – Emily Wurramara’s Milyakburra

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy or Punk Album – DZ Deathrays’ Bloody Lovely

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album or EP – Confidence Man’s Confident Music For Confident People

Best Independent Dance, Electronica or Club Single – What So Not’s ‘Beautiful ft. Winona Oak’

Best Independent Jazz Album – Jonathan Zwartz’s Animarum

Best Independent Classical Album – Grigoryan Brothers/Adelaide Symphony Orchestra/Benjamin Northey’s Bach Concertos

Outstanding Achievement Award [Supported by Merlin] – Gerarda McKenna


Head to AIR’s website for more information.