Interpol announce sixth studio album, release new song ‘The Rover’

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine

Interpol announce sixth studio album, release new song ‘The Rover’

Marauder is the band’s first full-length album since 2014’s El Pintor and was revealed during a livestreamed press conference yesterday. Interpol also noted their collaboration with producer Dave Friddman for the new record, marking the first time they’ve worked with an outside producer since 2007’s Our Love to Admire.


Marauder is a facet of myself,” said guitarist/vocalist Paul Banks. “The guy that fucks up friendships and does crazy shit. He taught me a lot, but it’s representative of a persona that’s best left in song. In a way, this album is like giving him a name and putting him to bed.”


The first insight into Interpol’s latest music arrives with new single ‘The Rover’ – listen below and check out the tracklist for a glimpse of what else to expect from the new record.



Marauder tracklist


  1. ‘If You Really Love Nothing’
  2. ‘The Rover’
  3. ‘Complications’
  4. ‘Flight of Fancy’
  5. ‘Stay in Touch’
  6. ‘Interlude 1’
  7. ‘Mountain Child’
  8. ‘NYSMAW’
  9. ‘Surveillance’
  10. ‘Number 10’
  11. ‘Party’s Over’
  12. ‘Interlude 2’
  13. ‘It Probably Matters’


Marauder is set for release on Friday August 24 through Matador Records.


Image via Jamie-James Medina.