John Butler announces 16-date Australian tour
14.04.2021

John Butler announces 16-date Australian tour

Words by Will Brewster

The fingerstyle hero will perform a mix of metro and regional dates.

Australian blues & roots legend John Butler is set to trek out on the road across Australia next month on a 16-date tour.

Catch up on all the latest touring news here.

The tour will see Butler return to a number of regional destinations around the country in addition to making stops in major cities, kicking off on Wednesday May 19 in Newcastle and wrapping up in late June in Exmouth.

Aside from select festival appearances in Western Australia and a string of performances for Summersault, the shows will mark Butler’s first headline shows as a solo artist since 2012’s Tin Shed Tales tour, with his solo plans being botched by the pandemic last year.

Butler was also meant to perform a number of headline shows to coincide with his appearance at the 2021 Byron Bay Bluesfest, which have been rescheduled due to the festival’s cancellation following a COVID scare in Byron Bay and Brisbane.

“I’m really, really looking forward to this tour,” a statement shared by Butler reads.

“It’s been a wacky ol’ year for all of us in so many ways and to be able to go out and play music for the community and myself feels like a bit of good healing.

“When I take a look around the world and see how hard some folks are doing it at the moment this feels like a huge privilege.”

Check out all the dates and details below. Tickets for sale shows go on sale from 9am AEDT Monday April 19 – don’t miss out.

An Evening With John Butler – 2021 Solo Dates

Wednesday May 19 – Newcastle Civic Theatre, Awabakal NSW

Thursday May 20 – Sydney State Theatre, Eora Nation NSW

Friday May 21 – QPAC, Yuggera (Brisbane) QLD

Saturday May 22 – Munro Martin Parklands, Yidinjdji (Cairns) QLD

Tuesday May 25 – Gladstone Entertainment Centre, Gureng Gureng QLD

Wednesday May 26 – Moncrieff Entertainment Centre, Bundaberg, Gureng Gureng QLD

Thursday May 27 – Pilbeam Theatre, Darumbal (Rockhampton) QLD

Saturday May 29 – Empire Theatre, Barunggam (Toowoomba) QLD

Sunday May 30 – Palais Theatre, St Kilda, Boonwurrung VIC

Wednesday June 9 – Albany Entertainment Centre, Minang WA

Friday June 11 – Esperance Civic Centre, Wudjari WA

Saturday June 12 – Goldfields Arts Centre, Wangkathaa (Kalgoorlie) WA

Wednesday June 16 – Mandurah Performing Arts Centre, Pinjarup WA

Sunday June 20 – Perth Concert Hall, Wajuk WA

Tuesday June 22 – Queens Park Theatre, Amanhu (Geraldton) WA

Friday June 25 – Federation Park, Exmouth, Thalanyji WA

Grab your tickets for all shows via the John Butler Trio website.