New Jimi Hendrix album to feature 10 unreleased songs

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine

New Jimi Hendrix album to feature 10 unreleased songs

Both Sides of the Sky is comprised of music recorded by Hendrix between January 1968 and February 1970. It follows the release of Valleys of Neptune (2010) and People, Hell and Angels (2013) as the final instalment in a trilogy of unheard archival recordings.


The record features collaborations with guests such as Steven Stills, Johnny Winter, and Lonnie Youngblood, a bandmate of Hendrix’s in Curtis Knight & the Squires before he reached new heights with his music.


Band of Gypsys members Billy Cox and Buddy Miles can be heard on songs throughout the album, while Noel Redding and Mitch Mitchell of the original Experience lineup are also contributors to Both Sides of the Sky.


Jimi Hendrix Both Sides of the Sky Tracklist:


1. ‘Mannish Boy’ (previously unreleased)
2. ‘Lover Man’ (previously unreleased)
3. ‘Hear My Train A Comin’’ (previously unreleased)
4. ‘Stepping Stone’ (previously unreleased)
5. ‘$20 Fine’ (previously unreleased, featuring Stephen Stills)
6. ‘Power Of Soul’ (previously unavailable extended version)
7. ‘Jungle’ (previously unreleased)
8. ‘Things I Used to Do’ (featuring Johnny Winter)
9. ‘Georgia Blues’ (featuring Lonnie Youngblood)
10. ‘Sweet Angel’ (previously unreleased)
11. ‘Woodstock’ (previously unreleased, featuring Stephen Stills)
12. ‘Send My Love To Linda’ (previously unreleased)
13. ‘Cherokee Mist’ (previously unreleased)


You can hear Both Sides of the Sky when it’s released on Friday March 9 through Sony Legacy Recordings.