‘Lost’ Miles Davis album Rubberband to be released this year

Subscribe to Mixdown Magazine

‘Lost’ Miles Davis album Rubberband to be released this year

Rubberband, which was originally slated to be Davis’ first record with Warner Brothers Records after departing Columbia, was ultimately shelved in favour of 1986’s Tutu. Now, the ‘lost’ album is finally set to be released this September after being completed Davis’ nephew and drummer Vince Wilburn, Jr. and producers Zane Giles and Randy Hall.


The record, which sees Davis experimenting with contemporary soulful grooves and treated trumpet textures, also features the likes of Lalah Hathaway and Ledisi, who last year featured on an alternate version of the title track, ‘Rubberband of Life.’ Check out the full tracklisting below.



Miles Davis – Rubberband 

01 Rubberband of Life [ft. Ledisi]
02 This Is It
03 Paradise
04 So Emotional [ft. Lalah Hathaway]
05 Give It Up
06 Maze
07 Carnival Time
08 I Love What We Make Together [ft. Randy Hall]
09 See I See
10 Echoes in Time/The Wrinkle
11 Rubberband



Rubberband will hit shelves on Friday September 6 courtesy of Rhino Records