Rodriguez announces 2019 Australian tour

A Legend Returns

Legendary singer-songwriter Rodriguez has announced his plans to tour Australia next year for six massive headline shows.

The guitarist will bring his live show to Sydney, Canberra, Melbourne, Darwin, Hobart and Perth alongside slots at three instalments of A Day on the Green. Australia’s own Sarah Blasko is set to join Rodriguez on his Australian tour, while Caiti Baker will make a special appearance at the music legend’s Darwin show to play some tracks from her debut album, ZINC.

 

 

Rodriguez shot to international fame when his story appeared as the focus of Oscar-winning documentary, Searching for Sugar Man. After recording albums Cold Fact and Coming for Reality in the early ‘70s, Rodriguez continued to work his construction job with no idea Cold Fact had been certified five-times platinum in Australia. His status in South Africa was even more pronounced, with many suggesting he was bigger than Elvis with politically-alienated youth who found their thoughts expressed in Rodriguez’s counter-culture lyrics.

 

His Australian tour is sure to be an experience you won’t want to miss—check out the tour dates below to find your nearest show:

 

Rodriguez 2019 Australian Tour

Tuesday February 5: ICC Sydney Theatre, Sydney, NSW

Saturday February 9: A Day On The Green, Mt Cotton, QLD

Tuesday February 12: Royal Theatre, Canberra, ACT

Friday February 15: Margaret Court Arena, Melbourne, VIC

Saturday February 16: A Day On The Green, Yarra Valley, VIC

Tuesday February 19: Entertainment Centre, Darwin, NT

Saturday February 23: A Day On The Green, Barossa Valley, SA

Tuesday February 26: Derwent Entertainment Centre, Hobart, TAS

Friday March 1: Kings Park & Botanic Garden, Perth, WA

 

Pre-sale tickets are available from 2pm on Wednesday August 1 via Frontier Touring.

Comments