The Former Dream Theater Drummer Is Bringing An All Star Prog Band

The former Dream Theater Drummer has just revealed the details on his first tour of Australia in eight years.

Together with an all star band including including Eric Gillette, Richard Henshall and Charlie Griffiths on guitar, Connor Green on bass and Diego Tejeida on keyboards, the Shattered Fortress tour will take in shows across the country throughout November including dates in Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, Sydney before finishing up in Melbourne on Saturday November 25.


Having played with Dream Theatre for 25 years, Portnoy left the band in 2010 to focus on other pursuits and now for the first and only time, fans will get the opportunity to hear the 12 Step Suite in its entirety. The five track song series has appeared in singular parts on Dream Theatre albums and will be a true highlight on this upcoming tour.


Over his career, Portney has won various awards over the years for his drumming prowess and been a member of bands such as Adrenaline Mob, Flying Colours and The Winery Dogs, in the years following his departure from Dream Theatre. To get excited for the tour, listen to Portnoy’s 12 Step Suite in its entirety below.



For more information head to Metropolis Touring.