Iggy Pop, Public Enemy, Sister Rosetta Tharpe to receive lifetime achievement Grammys

Plus Isaac Hayes, Chicago, Roberta Flack & More

The Grammy Awards have announced the recipients of this year's lifetime achievement honours, and it looks like they've hit the nail on the head with this year's crew of nominees.

Leading the pack is punk prince Iggy Pop; a national treasure who's seemingly only gotten better with age. The Detroit native, who was in Australia earlier this year for Bluesfest, has never been awarded a Grammy despite his innumerable contributions to the fabric of modern music, so it seems only right to honour him amid his late career renaissance



The academy are also honouring hip-hop pioneers Public Enemy, who have also surprisingly never been awarded with a Grammy over the span of their career despite making some of the finest rap albums of all time. Meanwhile, soul icon Isaac Hayes, early blues visionary Sister Rosetta Tharpe, Roberta Flack, Chicago and folk stalwart John Prine are also slated to receive lifetime achievement awards at next year's ceremony.


Reacquaint yourself with the 2020 Grammy Award Nominees here.