Arctic Monkeys finally announce new album ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’

The Wait Is Over

Arctic Monkeys have brought an end to the rumours and speculation surrounding their long-awaited sixth album, announcing plans to release Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino next month.

The highly-anticipated album is the follow-up to 2013’s AM, which received praise from critics and a somewhat divided response from fans given the different direction the band took with their sound on the record. The new album, Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino, was recorded in LA, Paris and London with production taken care of by James Ford and Alex Turner, and is the first new material from the band in five years.


Rumours surrounding the record have been fuelled by recent news of a vinyl reissue of Arctic Monkeys’ debut album Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not. Now that new material has officially been confirmed, we can only hope Australian tour dates (possibly filling the Splendour-sized gap in their touring schedule) will follow.


In the meantime, check out the tracklist below:


Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino

  1. ‘Star Treatment’
  2. ‘One Point Perspective’
  3. ‘American Sports’
  4. ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’
  5. ‘Golden Trunks’
  6. ‘Four Out of Five’
  7. ‘The World’s First Ever Monster Truck Front Flip’
  8. ‘Science Fiction’
  9. ‘She Looks Like Fun’
  10. ‘Batphone’
  11. ‘The Ultracheese’


Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino will be released Friday May 11. While you wait for the new record, read our Gear Rundown on Artic Monkeys inimitable frontman, Alex Turner.


(Feature image: Zackery Michael)